A Ruffle Skirt and Cold Shoulder Top

IMG_3737 2If you told me a year ago that I would be sewing a ruffle wrap skirt in denim for Spring, I would have laughed out loud. Ruffles have never been my thing. But if you show me enough of a trend, I am usually happy to hop on board!

Such is the case with this skirt.  I couldn’t resist modifying a simple skirt pattern to mimic some of the ready to wear ruffled gems I’ve been seeing around town.

IMG_3751In this photo, I am noticing that my bootie is unzipped. So ridiculous (!), but I had to include this shot because the ruffles on the front of the skirt are so easy to see. Honestly, this modification was easy. I measured the front edge of the right front of the skirt. I made my ruffle 1 and a half times that length (to allow for gathering), and 6″wide. I love how a simple modification can completely change the look of a pattern.

This skirt is Simplicity 1322. It’s meant to be a mock wrap with a front and back yoke and back zipper. But I made it into a real wrap skirt be eliminating the yokes and cutting a waistband and tie instead. I used  a lightweight denim; a cotton/linen blend. It’s been in my stash for so long, I have no idea where I bought it.

IMG_3771I’m happy with this skirt, but I’m not sure about the length. I might need to shorten it a couple of inches? Opinions? I won’t wear this with tights when it warms up around here and it might look more Springy if it’s a bit shorter?

This cold shoulder top (another trend I have happily embraced) is my first Style Arc Pattern. I wanted a basic top I could wear with anything, so I chose black ponte knit with moderate stretch and lots of body. This fabric was perfect to support the shape of the cut out shoulders.

IMG_3747I’d heard that Style Arc patterns are challenging because there are very few instructions. In the case of this pattern, the instructions were sparse (less than one page), but the instructions were enough to get the job done. There aren’t any facings to deal with on this top. The neck is finished with a turned edge as are the shoulder cut outs, so there just isn’t that much to say! It fit perfectly without modification, a rarity for me, so I’m fairly impressed with this pattern!

 

I’m more comfortable wearing ruffles when they’re paired with something that is simple and not so fussy, like this top. So, I imagine I’ll wear this skirt with simple knit tops most of the time.

IMG_3741I’m pretty happy with this make, and it was a stash buster too. What do you think of the ruffle trend? Thumbs up or down? And do you have any Style Arc Tried and True’s that I should try?

I hope it’s warm and sunny where you are, because it definitely isn’t here, which is not great for my Spring Sew-Jo. Nevertheless, there is a silver lining to the weather. Rain is a perfect excuse to ignore my yard and sew…. Happy sewing and thanks for stopping by!

 

 

 

Posted by

I love sewing, writing, baking and fashion design. Welcome to my blog!

15 thoughts on “A Ruffle Skirt and Cold Shoulder Top

  1. I’m pro-ruffle, though I haven’t made anything of late with them. I did just finish a long tunic style shirtdress with pleated trim running down the front…that’s kind of like a ruffle. The ruffle on this skirt adds just the right amount of interest. It’s so fun on the denim! I’d keep the length–I tend to like shorter skirts with tights and longer without, but I think the skirt could go either way. The top totally reminds me of Donna Karan!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Pleated trim sounds fabulous, I hope you’re going to post that dress? You’re right! I see now that tHe top is very Donna Karan! I do like ruffles with denim. It sort of softens denim’s tough image:)

      Like

  2. Love the ruffle added to this skirt. Inspirational to me as I have that pattern and I too see lots of ruffles around. Style Arc cold shoulder top looks great also.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! It’s always nice when an easy pattern modification works. And the style arc top was a nice surprise.

      Like

  3. I’ve taken a while to warm to ruffles but now I’m ready to put them on everything, they make me think hot warm sunny days (fingers crossed we get some!) love the denim ruffle, it’s got just the right amount gathering, it looks fab on and I love the bow at the top!! Your off shoulder top looks great too, very classy.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank-you! Maybe that why I like ruffles too. They make me think of a sunny days. Hmmmm. I think I’ll have to take this skirt with me to Spain this summer.

      Like

Leave a comment