Chambray, Lace and Pom-Pom Trim?

IMG_6494 3Chambray, lace and pom-pom trim… a funny combination I didn’t plan, but somehow, it happened.

If you think this new dress looks alot like the linen dress I made last spring you would be right. I loved that dress and wore it constantly until a trip to a hotel laundry shortened it to scandal level. I was so bummed! After a period of mourning, I accepted the fact that I’d have to replace it, and that’s how this dress came to be.

IMG_6385 I rarely buy fabric on-line, preferring to support the local stores, but when I saw this fabric on Fabric.com, it leaped into my shopping bag. The combination of chambray and lace would have had me, but then you add the blue….gotta have it! When the fabric arrived, I knew it was perfect for a simple shift dress, because the lace border was perfect to take center stage.

IMG_6354  Enter Mccalls 7532, a new pattern this spring that has a decidedly low key, boho vibe.

I love the swingy shape, the statement sleeves and the v-neck, a detail that begged for the pom-pom trim I had stashed away.

IMG_6481

The pattern went together easily, and the instructions were great, but I did make some changes. The skirt of this pattern is really swingy… and since my fabric was cotton chambray, it didn’t really have the right drape for the amount of ease in this pattern. So, I pulled in the side seams a bit to compensate. Trust me, I took out alot of that swing, and still had plenty of room, so you might want to size down. There’s alot of ease in the skirt that would likely work best with a crepe or a silk, or rayon challis, all recommended by McCalls.

I also modified the sleeves a bit. When I cut them as designed, it was clear to me that I would never be able to go out to dinner without knocking over a wine glass with that ruffle.  It’s true that my beverage of choice, white wine, doesn’t stain like red, but who wants to test that theory? To make the sleeves a bit more wearable, I shortened them by 3 inches and reduced the ruffle width by an inch and a half. That cost me a bit of ‘drama’ but I gained a dress I will wear.

IMG_6383

Do I love this dress more than last year’s linen/lace combo? No, but I’ve decided it’s not a comparison I have to make. This dress is cool for different reasons. It’s comfortable, the lace is gorgeous, and it will be the perfect travel companion for my trip to Spain. I love swing dresses so much, I already have another version in the works from a lighter weight fabric. It will be interesting to see how a different fabric changes the character of the dress.

I added the outside photos to this post just today, as the weather here is finally worthy of cottons, linens and silks. Yay! The only downside of beautiful weather is that I accomplish very little because I just want to play, play, play! Oh well. There’s always tomorrow when (sigh) it will probably rain.

Happy sewing and thanks for stopping by!

 

 

Posted by

I love sewing, writing, baking and fashion design. Welcome to my blog!

19 thoughts on “Chambray, Lace and Pom-Pom Trim?

  1. I saw this fabric on someone else’s blog–it is so cool! The pom pom trim is actually really subtle and it does a good job breaking up the blue. So sorry about the linen dress disaster. It’s always a blow when you lose a good make to the laundry. Who knew linen could shrink that much? I think pretty much every piece of wool I’ve ever touched has been killed in the laundry. I’d love to blame it all on my husband who often thoughtfully helps with the wash, but no doubt I’ve been absent-minded in this respect too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Who knew my stash of Pom Pom trim would find life on this dress:) It was a shock when my linen dress became a miniature version of itself.I had no idea linen could shrink like that! Yeah, it was a hard loss because good linen has magical properties but it was good motivation to make something new so that’s good. Nice to know someone else has been there…

      Like

  2. Ok, I am NOT a fan of pom poms or bell shaped sleeves – but you have hit a home run on this Mrs! I would buy this in a heartbeat if I saw it in a shop. (and totally with you on the wine glass front – I can do that without the sleeves!)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks…such a nice compliment! Maybe Pom Pom trim is an acquired taste? I must admit, I haven’t always been a fan as it says ‘sweet’ to me, but it had to be on this dress! I have yet to take this dress out for wine, fingers crossed that i got those sleeves right.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Love it! As I have said many times before…you have a real gift marrying fabric with pattern! The fabric is a real find and I think the swingy silhouette does it justice. This dress will look fabulous on your vacation to Spain. I’ve been perusing similar patterns on Etsy. The vintage ones sometimes call this look a trapeze or tent dress. I think swing sounds perfect!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! The fabric was such a find! I love the term ‘trapeze’. It’s perfect! I wish I would have thought of it 🙂 I’ll bet the vintage patterns are even better, with lots of fun details.

      Like

  4. I too purchased this fabric from Fabric.com. I like how you used it for this pattern. I am still trying to decide what pattern to make with this. Love the addition of the pom-pom trims! This looks great on you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much! You will love sewing with this fabric. It presses so well and holds a crisp shape without being too stiff. I can’t wait to see what you do with your piece!

      Like

  5. This dress is stunning, the fabric is awesome, I’ve not seen anything it before but would definitely buy it if I did!! Such a super shape dress, really shows off the lace and the sleeves and pom-poms make it perfect 💗

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank-you! It’s such an unusual fabric I wish I’d bought a bit more so that I could make a skirt or a pair of shorts. Wouldn’t shorts be fun? Anyway, thanks for giving those pom-poms a thumbs up:)

      Like

    1. Thank-you! I think I’m a fan of border prints too now that I’ve played around with this one! It made this simple dress special!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment