New Look 6519: An easy travel dress

IMG_7345 2

I’m always on the look out for stylish dresses that are easy and comfortable to wear while traveling in hot weather. That’s why the simplicity of this New Look pattern caught my eye. The shape of the dress is accomplished with the addition of a simple belt.

This means the dress can be loose or fitted, depending on how tight you tie the belt so it’s perfect for hot weather. The other good news, is that there are very few complicated design details which makes sewing a breeze. Yet, there are some cool details on this dress too, like the back V.

IMG_7434 3

I often forget about New Look patterns, but I’m not sure why, because they never let me down! New Look 6519 was simple to construct – – I made it in a Saturday afternoon! Also, the top version is a stash buster…It only takes a yard and a half.

I used a soft cotton lawn for this dress (Fabric Depot) which makes it perfect for hot, muggy weather. The neck of the dress is finished with seam-binding, which is fast and easy to do. I did modify the pattern slightly, adding wide 6″ ruffles to the sleeves in a contrast fabric. I love the relaxed, easy look of a wide ruffle. To accomplish this, I just took a twelve-inch wide piece of fabric that was the length of the sleeve opening times 1.5. Then I folded it over, wrong sides together and gathered it, before inserting it into the sleeve opening.

IMG_7431 2

IMG_7330Not only is cotton lawn easy to wear, but it’s lightweight, so this dress won’t take up much space in my very small suitcase. I’m determined to take small a single small bag on this next trip, in spite of the fact that I’ll be gone for almost three weeks and I’m determined to succeed. My clothes (mostly me-mades) are cottons, rayons and linens which I hope will compress easily, and for this trip, I ordered a set of packing cubes, a concept that’s new to me. Have you ever tried them? Any tips?

It’s so odd to be sewing light weight summer clothes when the weather here in Oregon is on the cool side with plenty of rain! Fingers crossed that my next post will include outdoor photos…. Happy summer sewing, and thanks for stopping by!

 

Posted by

I love sewing, writing, baking and fashion design. Welcome to my blog!

12 thoughts on “New Look 6519: An easy travel dress

  1. What a great print, and the style is perfect for showing it off. It reminds me a little of the Designer Stitch Jenny Dress if the Jenny Dress went to Japan and brought some ruffles along for the fun. I hope you enjoy your travels!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It is like the Jenny Stitched dress (another great pattern) with ruffles! Yes, in this make, the fabric is the thing. Maybe I’ll find more when I travel…fingers crossed….

      Like

  2. I’m surprised your fabric is a cotton lawn because it looks like denim to me. I bet this pattern would also look really pretty in a lightweight linen or maybe even a rayon. I, too, have recently started using New Look patterns and I kind of dig em. I feel like they’ve been upping their game in the past year or so.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think a light weight linen would be perfect too, and have been hinting for something special for another version of this pattern. New Look does seem improved to me too, and the styles are really on trend so ill be making more soon.

      Like

Leave a comment